What Happens When You Reset Your iPhone: A Detailed Analysis

If you have an iPhone, what would happen if you reset it? Well, the answer is not what most people think. When someone resets their iPhone, what they are really doing is erasing all of the data that has been saved on the phone up to this point in time.

You can still save your important information by backing up your device before a reset. If you don’t back up your device first, then everything will be lost when you do decide to reset it!

What do You lose when You reset Your iPhone?

When you reset your iPhone, you lose all your data, including your apps and settings. Some of them are:


1. Photos and Videos

If your iPhone is running slow or you just want to start over with a clean slate, then the best bet for recovering your photos and videos might be iCloud.

It’s worth pointing out that this option isn’t guaranteed to work because if you’ve never synced your device up to iCloud before, there won’t be any data saved in the cloud.

2. Saved Passwords

While your app data and music will be able to survive a reset, anything that is saved in the cloud (i.e., passwords) may or may not make it through intact.

If you do decide to backup before you reset, then this kind of information should be ok since it’s backed up on iCloud too. But, if you don’t back it up, then this information will be gone forever.

3. Apps and App Data

If the app data saved on your phone isn’t backed up to iCloud or iTunes before a reset takes place, then all of that data is going to disappear too.

Even though Apple does allow for some apps (like Netflix) to be re-downloaded free of charge, most apps will cost you money.

4. Settings

This one is a little bit more difficult to quantify because it may not always be the same for everyone. However, resetting your iPhone will almost definitely mean that all of your current settings (things like Wi-Fi passwords and brightness) will be lost.

You’ll have to set up your device all over again, which can take a significant amount of time depending on how much you’ve customized it so far!

5. Game Center Achievements and High Scores

If you’re the type of person who likes to show off their achievements in mobile games, then this one is for you. Unfortunately, resetting your phone will mean that all of these won’t make it through the process intact.

6. Health Data

The Apple Watch has a fitness app that tracks your steps and calorie burn over time, which is great! What isn’t so great is if this information gets lost when you reset your iPhone.

Unfortunately, if you don’t have a backup of your health data, then it will be permanently gone when you reset.

7. iMessages

This is another one that can be tough to quantify because it may not always be the same for everyone. However, any messages that you’ve sent or received over iMessage will likely disappear when you reset your iPhone.

8. Home Screen Layout

When it comes to the home screen layout, any apps that are installed on one page will be moved to another.

Those apps may or may not get put back in their original spots when a device is reset, depending on how much time has passed since they were added and if they’ve ever been used since then.

9. Passwords and Settings for Third-Party Apps

Unfortunately, this is another one that can be tough to quantify because it may not always be the same for everyone.

However, any passwords or settings saved in third-party apps will disappear when you reset your iPhone if they haven’t been backed up.

10. Bluetooth Pairings

If you’ve ever paired your iPhone with another device using Bluetooth, then you’ll lose that pairing when you reset your phone.

This means that you’ll have to go through the process of pairing them again if you want to use them together in the future.

Best practices to avoid losing data while resseting your iphone

Here’s the list of best practices you can perform to avoid these losses: 

  • Before you go ahead and reset your iPhone, make sure that you know what all of the consequences may be. This includes knowing which data will be lost and how to back it up if necessary.
  • This one is a no-brainer, but it’s still worth mentioning. Make sure to back up your iPhone before you reset it! This can be done either through iCloud or iTunes, and it’s the best way to ensure that you don’t lose any data in the process.
  • If you want to ensure that your data is always safe, then use iTunes or iCloud to sync your data. There’s a chance that some of it will be lost when you reset, but this is one way to make sure that at least part of it makes its way through the process intact!
  • If possible, keep an old iPhone around as a backup device. This way, you’ll still have all of your data with the potential to use it down the line if necessary! In the event that you do lose data, don’t worry – there are ways to get it back! By following these best practices, you can make sure that your data is as safe as possible. And if something does happen, don’t hesitate to reach out for help. We’re here to assist you in any way we can!


Conclusion

Resetting your iPhone can be a scary prospect, but it’s not as bad as it seems! By knowing what to expect beforehand, you can be better prepared for the possible losses that may occur.

And if you do lose something in the process, don’t worry – there are ways to recover some of that data! Just be sure to back everything up before taking the plunge.

FAQs


Q: What if I back up my iPhone but still lose data when I reset it?
A:
If you’ve backed up your iPhone, then there’s a good chance that you’ll be able to recover some of that data. However, if you do lose something in the process, don’t hesitate to reach out for help! We’re here to assist you in any way we can.


Q: What if a third-party app doesn’t have an updated backup?
A:
Unfortunately, you won’t be able to recover that data without getting help from the developer of the app or service that it belongs to. If possible, try and find out what happened before resetting your iPhone so as to not lose any data.


Q: What if I reset my iPhone and then decide that I don’t want to use it anymore?
A:
If you’ve reset your iPhone and don’t want to use it anymore, the only way to make it usable again is by restoring it from a backup. This will erase all of the data on your device, so be sure to back it up before doing this!


Q: What if I reset my iPhone and then decide that I want to go back to using it?
A:
If you’ve reset your iPhone and then decide that you want to use it again, the only way to make it usable again is by restoring it from a backup. This will erase all of the data on your device, so be sure to back it up before doing this!

RELATED ARTICLES:

8 Methods To Know if Someone’s Phone is Dead

Where is the Clipboard on iPhone? A Comprehensive Guide

Do iMessage Notify if Someone Takes a Screenshot of Your Chat?

Will iMessage Say Delivered If You Are Blocked?

Why iPhone Keeps Hanging up Calls and How to Fix this Problem

Leave a Comment