Most people think they can only delete messages from their phone and cannot delete messages for both the sender and receiver. Is it actually true! Can you also delete messages from the other person’s phone?
In this blog post, we will explain whether or not you can do this. Keep reading for more information.
When You Delete Messages on Your iPhone, Does it Delete for Other Person?
Unfortunately, when you delete a message on your iPhone, it does not automatically delete the message from the other person’s phone.
So, if you’re trying to delete a message for privacy reasons, you’ll need to ask the other person to do it for you.
Can You Delete Text Messages on iPhone from Both Sides?
No, you cannot delete text messages on iPhone from both sides. If you want to delete a message, you will have to do it from your own phone. The other person will still have the message on their phone.
If you want to delete the message from both phones, you will have to ask the other person to delete it from their phone.
If you care about your privacy, then you can use apps like WhatsApp or Messenger, which allow more variety when it comes to texting, as well as they have to feature to delete a message for everyone too.
Like iPhone, android devices also do not have a feature that allows you to delete text messages from both sides.
The reason for that is text messages are sent through your sim carrier, and they don’t allow this as they cover a wide range of mobile devices, including simple phones.
So, if they want to allow such a feature for some specific phones, it will be nearly impossible.
Can You Delete iMessages on iPhone from Both Sides?
If your iPhone is running iOS 16 then you can delete iMessage from both sides but within 30 minutes after sending the message.To do this,
- Open the conversation and long press the message you want to delete from both sides.
- Next, click on the “Undo send” option.
- Your message will be deleted from both sides if done under 30 minutes of sending the iMessage
If your iPhone is running iOS 15 or bellow then unfortunately, you cannot delete iMessages on iPhone from both sides.
Reasons You Might Need to Delete Messages
- You accidentally sent a private message to the wrong person, and you want to delete it before the other person reads that message.
- The other person is harassing you using that message, and you want to delete that message.
- The message is embarrassing or incriminating, and you don’t want that message to be shared publically by the other person.
- The messages are old and hence no longer relevant.
Does Deleting the Conversation Deletes it from Both Sides?
No, deleting the conversation does not delete it from both sides. The other person will still have the messages on their phone. So, whether you delete a single message or the entire conversation, it will be deleted from your side only.
As you can see, it is not possible to delete messages from both sides on iPhone for now if you are using text messages. iMessage allows you to delete messages for both sides only if you are using iOS 16.
So if you are using iOS 15 or bellow then you cannot even delete iMessages for everyone.
We hope this blog post was helpful. If you have any other questions, feel free to leave a comment below, and we will answer them as soon as possible. Thanks for reading!